If you don’t notice by now

Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 1.33.15 PM
Harold Melvin and the Bluenotes

Sometimes I don’t even bother commenting on the most striking and obvious events that are occurring.

That is a little bit due to heartbroken writer syndrome–stronger voices than mine have already expressed the daily outrage and I don’t want to try to outdo them or distract from their better-articulated and broadcasted messages.

But mostly it’s because I am immediately fatigued and nauseated by the need to point out the obvious to people.

Do I really have to explain why mass symbolic rape by Arab men in European cities is noticeable, and how it fits in to the wider discussion?

If I do have to explain it–especially if I have to overcome any sort of argument or counter-signaling–was that audience member ever going to be persuaded? Could they ever be intellectually honest and societally useful?

I’ve been observing these patterns of hypocrisy and denial in earnest for about 10 years now and it still boggles my mind no less than it did when I began.

If you don’t notice by now

Leave a Reply

